Chancellor’s Leadership Prize winners

top three final year students WIN chancellor’s inaugural York Award Leadership prize.

The York Award qualification has been a much sought-after qualification over many years, recognising the broad range of skills that students develop during their time at York. In addition it raises awareness of the opportunities available beyond higher education, and the demands of employers in the rapidly changing labour market.

This year a new pilot leaders’ programme was added to the York Award. It was delivered over three days at the University by the Leadership Development team in the HR department, and it gave 30 students a unique opportunity to present team projects to a panel of graduate employers and to compete for the Chancellor’s Leadership Prize.

The top three students, Sophie Hurst, Alex Byron and Beni Ngwamah, were selected to receive the Prize of £1,000. Funded by a generous donation from by Sir Malcolm (University of York Chancellor) and Lady Grant, the Prize of £1,000 recognises the most talented, ambitious and driven students who excel in the York Award. Following this year’s pilot course, a full programme will start in 2017/18.

I was delighted at both the number and sheer quality of the students applying to take part.  All the participants demonstrated leadership qualities in their time at York across a wide range of activities and all of them engaged fully with the training and impressed the employers, and the positive qualities involved were particularly typified by Beni, Alex and Sophie.”

Andrew Ferguson, Assistant Director, Business, Community and Enterprise